Djbetterly

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
12   0   0
So I had purchased these two pumps last year and had them plugged into the EB4 on my APEX, but it took up two outlets, and with my new tank, I couldn't spare another two so I had to come up with a solution.

I found this little arduino like core called a spark core. The beauty of this core is its tiny and its programmable via WiFi. I'm not very good with programming so I've been getting a bit of help. Currently there is a very simple, down and dirty web interface to set the programming.

The pumps are from aptinstruments.com. These are really good pumps! I read some where that these are the same pumps that BRS uses in the Drew's Dosers. I was hoping to use 12v pumps and found some on ebay, but they are crap! In the end you get what you pay for with peristaltic dosing pumps. Since then I have found some quality 12v pumps that run about $45/ea, but I didn't feel it was necessary to spend more money when I had good pumps in the house. The biggest advantage of the 12v pumps is you can adjust the rate of the pump.

I plan on adding a manual on/off switch for each pump for priming the entire length of tubing as well as two additional ports for using the other two relays.

Here are a few photos.

Attachments

• 41acd413bd_466x500.JPG
    41acd413bd_466x500.JPG
    48.8 KB · Views: 872
  • 864fbf0183_666x500.JPG
    864fbf0183_666x500.JPG
    82 KB · Views: 868
  • Screen Shot 2014-06-19 at 10.30.24 AM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2014-06-19 at 10.30.24 AM.jpg
    17.4 KB · Views: 835
  • IMG_5644.JPG
    IMG_5644.JPG
    34 KB · Views: 833
  • IMG_5643.JPG
    IMG_5643.JPG
    42.5 KB · Views: 843
  • IMG_5642.jpg
    IMG_5642.jpg
    72.3 KB · Views: 880

lnevo

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
106   0   0