JohnM

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Hello all, I am new to Manhattan Reefs and joined right after the recent spring frag swap. I am currently having a problem with my Vertex IN-180 Skimmer and getting it to produce like it should. I have it currently sitting in my sump at 7" of water height and I still can't get it to produce correctly. Does anyone know that levels I should be having the bubbles / foam at?

Thank You

fishman1069

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
40   0   0
I always set my "bubble height" about a quarter to half way up the neck of the skimmer. Start with a quarter of the way up and let it run one that for a day. If your still not producing, make very small adjustments every day till its dialed in. Hth
Welcome to MR!

Last edited:

d5332

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 96.9%
94   3   0
sounds like your skimmer is working, if the pump turns on and you see a white wall of water then your skimmer is working.

You have to dial it in meaning play with the gate valve until you learn how your skimmer works best.

Make daily adjustments not hourly and observe.

You will eventually learn that your skimmer produces waste in cycles throughout the day and not every single minute.

Learn how to dial it in and you will be fine.

JohnM

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Thank you for your replies, not 100% sure how to check my threads I post and it took me awhile to find it again.

The skimmer is bubbling and making waste just not 'bad' waste. It seems why too clean to be working right. The skimmer in question is hooked up to a 155 fish only tank and quite a bit of fish too. My small 55 corner reef tank with a small skimmer pulls nice black waste unlike the bigger one.

MIKE NY

Two Decade Club
Rating - 100%
204   0   0