1UCKY

Niko's Dad
Rating - 100%
128   0   0
Quick question....I have been running hypo salinity (1.007) in my tank for about 6 weeks now. I am running hypo due to the fact that about 3 of my fish were scratching against the rocks/sand; some had what looked like ick spots for a few days. Everyone is looking good now, except the Emperor. Sometimes I catch him scratching his right side of the face against my over-flows. He does this once in a while and sometimes goes through the day without doing it. Could he possibly still have ick? All the fish (including him) have their colors and eat like pigs! I was planning on raising the salinity back starting next week, but don't know what should I do. This is my first time ever trying the hypo way. My parameters are all good:

PH 8.2
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
Ammonia 0

Bikinisalt

Always Overfeeding
Rating - 100%
57   0   0
IMO if your fish are eating, colors okay, swimming okay, leave things alone. You are only going to make matters worst and stress them out. I have a hippo tang that when I do a water change sometimes has ick the following day and after that is fine. I leave everything alone and keep my salinity at 1.021 all the time all my fish are doing fine.

Last edited:

1UCKY

Niko's Dad
Rating - 100%
128   0   0
If your fish are eating, colors okay, swimming okay, leave things alone. You are only going to make matters worst and stress them out. I have a hippo tang that when I do a water change sometimes has ick the following day and after that is fine. I leave everything alone and keep my salinity at 1.021 all the time all my fish are doing fine.

Thanks for your input! I'm just afraid that it's not ick but something else. This fish has been in captivity for a long time now and it would suck to loose it....

Bob 1000

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
122   0   0